

## **Note of last Councillors' Forum meeting**

Title: Councillors' Forum

**Date:** Thursday 9 June 2016

**Venue:** Westminster Suite, 8th Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square,

London, SW1P 3HZ

#### **Attendance**

An attendance list is attached as **Appendix A** to this note

### Item Decisions and actions Action

#### 1 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

# 2 Sport England: Towards an Active Nation Strategy 2016 - Mike Diaper, Executive Director Community Sport, Sport England

The Chairman welcomed Mike Diaper, Sport England to the meeting.

Members received a presentation outlining strategies for improving community health and well-being and highlighted opportunities for Councils to work with Sport England to deliver better engagement by its residents.

The Forum noted current statistics with regard to numbers of the population currently playing sports and also Government's commitment to provide funding because of the wider benefits. Recommendations, set by government, include assistance to involve the elderly and to ensure representation of underrepresented groups.

Mr Diaper advised members to explore their needs in order to evaluate what needed to be done to encourage habits of good health, and finding out what motivates individuals – and how to prompt those who never exercise. Members noted costs of inactivity - care costs, ill health, death and noted that the greatest health benefits are made in the first 30 minutes. He assured them that local delivery was at the heart of investment and outlined an offer to support local authorities with expertise, advice and building strong sustainable partnerships.

Members expressed their interest and agreed that physical health and exercise held a very strong link around mental wellbeing as well as being a step to ending isolation. Several points were raised and some members agreed that they would like to have a strategic conversation with Mr Diaper about ways forward, such as getting GPs on Board.

Members also felt that it was an amazing opportunity for Local Authorities to pick up 'prevention' in order to change the pendulum of ill health but that



measurement of outcomes would be vital to continued engagement and support.

The Chairman thanked the speaker for his presentation and encouraged members to contact Mr Diaper for assistance.

# 3 Sport England: Towards an Active Nation Srategy - presentation slides

Available at <a href="http://lga.moderngov.co.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?Cld=157&Mld=3149&V">http://lga.moderngov.co.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?Cld=157&Mld=3149&V</a> er=4

### 4 Chairman's Update

Members noted the Chairman's update.

### 5 LGA Boards & Portfolio Chair's Reports

Members noted the Chairs' reports and recent updates.

### 6 Digest of the last meeting

The note of the previous meeting was approved.



## **Appendix A - Attendance**

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Chairman Vice-Chairman Deputy-chairman	Lord Gary Porter Cllr Sharon Taylor OBE Mayor Sir Steve Bullock	South Holland District Council Stevenage Borough Council Lewisham London Borough Council
Deputy-chairman Members	Cllr Tudor Evans OBE Cllr John Beesley Cllr Martin Tett Cllr Paul Diviani Cllr David Simmonds CBE Cllr Robert Light Cllr Peter Fleming OBE Cllr David Hodge Cllr Melvyn Caplan Cllr Izzi Seccombe Cllr Morris Bright Cllr Tom Fitzpatrick Cllr Paul Carter CBE Cllr Keith Glazier Cllr Peter Golds CBE Cllr Kevin Bentley Cllr Roy Perry Cllr Blake Pain Cllr Vince Maple Cllr David Acton Cllr Graham Chapman Cllr Simon Henig CBE Cllr Kate Haigh Cllr John Merry CBE Cllr Helen Holland Cllr Anne Western CBE Cllr Alan Rhodes Cllr Alan Rhodes Cllr Alice Perry Cllr Timothy Swift Cllr Mike Eathorne- Gibbons Cllr Alan Seldon Cllr Chris Townsend Cllr Chris Townsend Cllr Chris Townsend Cllr Lisa Brett Cllr Jeremy Hilton Cllr Richard Kemp CBE Mayor Dave Hodgson MBE Cllr John Hart Cllr Philip Atkins OBE	Plymouth City Council Bournemouth Borough Council Buckinghamshire County Council East Devon District Council Hillingdon London Borough Council Kirklees Metropolitan Council Sevenoaks District Council Sevenoaks District Council Westminster City Council Warwickshire County Council Hertsmere Borough Council North Norfolk District Council Kent County Council East Sussex County Council Tower Hamlets Council Colchester Borough Council Harborough District Council Medway Council Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council Nottingham City Council Durham County Council Salford City Council Salford City Council Bristol City Council Derbyshire County Council Nottinghamshire County Council Salford Council Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council Cornwall Council Surrey County Council Surrey County Council Surrey County Council East & North East Somerset Council Gloucestershire County Council Liverpool City Council Bedford Borough Council
	Cllr Ralph Bagge Cllr Stewart Golton Cllr Graham Whitham Cllr Roger Lawrence Cllr Stephen Parker	South Bucks District Council Leeds City Council Sutton London Borough Council Wolverhampton City Council Hart District Council



Cllr Chris Saint Stratford-on-Avon District Council

Cllr Kenneth Taylor OBE Coventry City Council

Apologies CIIr Gillian Brown Arun District Council
CIIr Teresa O'Neill OBE Bexley Council

Cllr Simon Cooke Bradford Metropolitan District Council

Cllr James Jamieson Central Bedfordshire Council

Cllr Claire-Louise Leyland Camden Council

Cllr Mike Jones Cheshire West and Chester Council

Cllr Roger Phillips Herefordshire Council
Cllr Neil Clarke MBE Rushcliffe Borough Council
Cllr Kay Hammond Surrey County Council

Cllr Jonathan Owen East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Cllr Colin Noble Suffolk County Council
Cllr Philippa Roe Westminster City Council

Cllr David Burbage MBE Windsor & Maidenhead Royal Borough

Cllr Mark Hawthorne MBE Gloucestershire County Council

Cllr Tony Jackson East Herts Council

Cllr Sean Anstee Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council

Cllr Nigel Ashton
Cllr Ivan Ould
Cllr Liz Hacket Pain
Cllr John Fuller

North Somerset Council
Leicestershire County Council
Monmouthshire County Council
South Norfolk District Council

Cllr Sarah Hayward Camden Council

Cllr Phil Davies Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council
Cllr Anthony Hunt Torfaen County Borough Council

Cllr Bryony Rudkin Suffolk County Council

Cllr Judi Billing MBE North Hertfordshire District Council

Cllr Caitlin Bisknell High Peak Borough Council
Mayor Jules Pipe Hackney London Borough Council

Cllr Paul Watson Sunderland City Council
Cllr Ian Swithenbank CBE Northumberland Council

Cllr Linda Thomas Bolton Council

Sir Richard Leese CBE Manchester City Council Cllr Simon Blackburn Blackpool Council

Cllr Sue Woodward Staffordshire County Council

Cllr Keith Wakefield OBE Leeds City Council

Cllr Peter Box CBE Wakefield Metropolitan District Council
Cllr Lib Peck Lambeth London Borough Council

Cllr Amy Cross Blackpool Council

Sir Stephen Houghton Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council

CBE

Cllr Michael Payne
Cllr Aaron Shotton
Cllr Tony Page
Cllr David Wilcox OBE
Clls Bish and Watte

Cllr Claire Kober OBE

Cllr Andy Moorhead Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council

Cllr Marianne Overton Lincolnshire County Council

**MBE** 

Cllr Bob Dutton OBE Wrexham County Borough Council

Alderman Sir David City of London Corporation Wootton

Cllr Peter Reeve Cambridgeshire County Council

Vacancy Independent Group



Cllr Keith House Cllr Claire Hudson Cllr Howard Sykes MBE Cllr Heather Kidd Cllr Mike Bell Cllr Jason Ablewhite Eastleigh Borough Council Mendip District Council Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council Shropshire Council North Somerset Council

In Attendance

Sport England Sport England Sport England

**LGA Officers** 

Fatima de Abreu Mark Lloyd